Sonata for Violin and Piano (2010)
Each movement of the Sonata for Violin and Piano incorporates a unique rhythmic or melodic structure. Each of the 12 Haiku, for example, is based on a different melodic interval. And all contain a pattern of 5 – 7 – 5 sounds distributed across 3 measures.
There are three movements that take the form of an Incrementa. Incrementa is my term for a rhythmic or melodic aspect of the music that forms an increasing or decreasing incremental pattern. Movement four, The Clock, is another example of an Incrementa that slows down over time. Scale Model 1 and Scale Model 2 employ a variety of melodic patterns arranged in different symmetrical configurations. Incrementa No. 2 is suggestive of American fiddle music. In Passing By, you experience the passage of time. In Sands of a Distant Shore, you feel the motions of the sea.

No. 1  Scale Model No. 1
No. 2  Chromatic Intervals in Two Dimensions
No. 3  Incrementa No. 1
No. 4  The Clock
No. 5  Incrementa No. 2
No. 6  12 Haiku  (from 12 Haiku based on themes of science and nature by the
No. 7  Scale Model No. 2
No. 8  Passing By  (inspired by the story The Curious Case of Benjamin Button
                                      by F. Scott Fitzgerald)
No. 9  Sands of a Distant Shore  (based on a poetic fragment from the journal
                                                               Cape Cod by Henry David Thoreau)
No. 10  Incrementa No. 3

Duration: 28:14